top of page

16 Tambourines - 
'All Men Are Fools'

Released on: 9th December 2022
Formats: LP with lyric sheet insert and signed art print, £22.99
CD with insert, £9.99

Formed in the mid 80's, signing to Arista/BMG, releasing one record and playing their last show for 30 years in 1990, 16 Tambourines burnt bright in a short period of time. 

Fans and the band themselves have longed for a follow up to the glorious 'How Green Is Your Valley?' for over 3 decades and it is finally upon us. 

'All Men Are Fools' is the sophomore release 33 years in the making. Created in parts through lockdown, recorded, mixed and mastered post lockdown by original members Steve Roberts & Tony Elliott. 

The intention of the album is to be upbeat, sharp, witty and at points scathing. A defiant joviality that is certainly embodied in the seemingly eternal, joyous struggle to create this body of work.

The band met at Igloo Studios in Liverpool post lockdown. The band having grown up somewhat since their heyday. The record was created in fits and starts. Tony Mac, Dave, Sue and Steves brother Chris joining on drums, piano, backing vocals and guitar respectively. 

Tony Elliott mixed 4 tracks at Igloo and Craig Edmondson completed 6 more under the prying eyes of Steve at his home studio. It is described by Steve as Mod, New Wave, Pop & Soul with a couple of jazz chords, just how the band wanted it. 

The esteemed Mike Cave from Parr Street Studios in Liverpool mastered the record.

The titled of the album, 'All Men Are Fools' was the first song Steve wrote specifically for the retooled, remodelled 16 Tambourines. The track itself rounding on the arrogance, aggression, creation and destruction of menkind. 

The songs are written and played with love and fire and are now available for you to pre-order on CD and LP formats from the button below. The LP comes with a lyrics sheet insert and signed art print from Steve Roberts himself:

16 album front.jpg
bottom of page